Zero to Hero challenge -making writing prompts personal – 7 colours of the rainbow

Today’s challenge is to make writing prompts personal.  I read yesterday’s prompt – Write about anything you’d like, but make sure that all seven colors of the rainbow — red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, violet — make an appearance in the post, either through word or image.   It’s winter and I blog about my allotment which is in semi-retirement.  However, I signed up for the challenge and zero to hero is where I am walking.

The red nasturtium is the Scarlet O’Hara of my plot.  No matter where I sow she will always take a stroll in all her finery and plant herself in another spot, shouting I am the bell of the ball.  At times, this Scarlet O’Hara can compete with Calendula, glowing in her vibrant orange dress and generously giving me her flower heads as a substitute for saffron.  The bees love her and so do I.  My plan is to make a few jars of hand cream from her petals this year.  All these sumptuous colours fed by the yellow rays of the sun dancing on lush green vegetation and sheltered by the expansive blue sky, which can change to a vast duvet of indigo some nights.  Let’s not forget the geranium Roxanne, coyly spreading her violet petals close to the earth.  No screaming look at me, just quietly winding around the rose bush.  Seven colours of the rainbow here on my plot – paradise on earth.

2 thoughts on “

  1. Oh well done! I love how you were able to meet the challenge and stick to the topic of your blog so perfectly! I saw this challenge and chose to go with a photography challenge instead – couldn’t imagine how I would do it!

Leave a Reply

