Obstacle? Crack an Egg

At times in life when you are faced with an obstacle and unsure what to do, you often hear the expression – you’ve got to crack a few eggs to make an omelette.  I crack eggs not just to make an omelette, but to try and overcome a gardening obstacle – SLUGS – and also to feed the soil.  Some gardeners swear by crushed eggshells as a slug deterrent, whilst others say it is a waste of time.  I am off the former.  Eggshells act as a natural fertilizer, conserving water and improving soil health.  They contain calcium which is good for plants.

eggshells  Part of the winter collection

I bake in the oven on a low heat for about an hour which enhances the sharpness of the eggshells, plus this method means they last longer once scattered on the soil.

Baked eggshells

Once baked I crush with a rolling pin C eggshells

and scatter on the brassica bed Soil eggshells

and then lightly water the soil.  I keep some back to sow with the seedlings in their final planting hole. I may never deter all the slugs who love my allotment as much as I do, but I am sure I deter quite a few.  Another batch from my winter collection will be scattered over the remaining bed next week.

Later in the summer I add crushed eggshells to the compost heap.  I discovered a gardening tip late last year  – mixing crushed egg shells with dried coffee dregs (a mix of calcium and nitrogen) is good for tomatoes.  I shall give it a go this year!

The narcissus are blooming  White Narcissus    White Narcissus 2   White Narcissus 3

One thought on “Obstacle? Crack an Egg

Leave a Reply

