Name that plant

A few weeks ago I noticed three seedlings, about 15cm high, growing near the kale. They looked so familiar but I couldn’t place them and as I had sown quite an assortment of kale seeds I left them to grow.

Part of this year’s brassica bed is still home to the broad beans from last November’s sowing and today I uprooted some of the plants, now on their last leg, to lightly dig in and enrich the soil.  Lo and behold a further two seedlings just like the three growing next to the kale greeted me.  Who are you?  I know you!  You look so familiar.  Who are you?

Finally – DOH  – the light went on – tomato seedlings! Last summer a friend gave me a tomato plant and though I had planted three a month earlier and had little space for a fourth I can never refuse a plant so I stuck it in the beetroot and chard bed – this year’s brassica bed. Seeds from a few fallen tomatoes left on the ground must have lain dormant over the winter, under the manure and paper mulch, and sprouted late spring.

Tomato seedling When I look at the photos        Tomato 1its pretty obvious they are tomato plants.  I plan to experiment this autumn by keeping some tomato seeds for sowing next spring plus lightly digging in a few tomatoes where I would like them to grow next year and see what happens.

Other self-seeders, nasturtiums and calendula, are brightening up the area around the compost bin

flowers and compost bin

The strawberries are luscious this year.  I picked some for dessert tonight and a few delicate cranes-bill flowers to decorate the table.strawberries  flowers for the table

2 thoughts on “Name that plant

  1. I love self-seeing plants! We have some lovely foxgloves and poppies this year that have just appeared in odd places. Those strawberries look delicious…I forgot to net mine and the birds have been feasting!

  2. I have wanted to grow foxgloves on my plot for the last two years but was told they need shade and I don’t have much shade – do you think it’s ok to grow foxgloves in the sun on my plot – I love this plant and so do the bees – any advice would be gratefully received.

Leave a Reply

