And so to bed – or perhaps not

Most of the manure has been laid to keep the beds warm and nourished over winter with only the asparagus bed remaining to be done.  This morning I cut down the ferns with my wonderful new bypass secateurs, designed for small hands.  They fit beautifully.  I am a happy gardener!

1

However not all is resting at plot 11a.  On Wednesday I finally planted the broad bean seeds.  I look forward every winter to watching the young shoots reach out of the earth. By February as they begin to grow I know spring is just around the corner.  The garlic cloves will be planted in January around the rose bushes as they make great companions.  And speaking of companions I am told that tomatoes grow really well with roses so am thinking I will give this a go next year.  I checked my companion planning book and garlic does not have an adverse effect of tomatoes.

A good week to all.  May the seed catalogues brighten the dark nights.

 

 

.

Leave a Reply

