A crisp December morning

3Yesterday was a perfect day to don wellies, coat and gloves and walk through the common to the plot.  Not a raindrop in sight and a clear blue sky.  I love the crisp December light and the morning the air seemed to sparkle.  The plan for the day was to plant the garlic cloves which I prefer to do in December.  Tradition says you should plant the cloves on the shortest day and dig up on the longest day.  I am a week early but I prefer to plant garlic within a few days of the cloves arriving in the post.  This year I am planting Solent Wight.

I made good use of the collection of wooden sticks from my daily morning latte to mark the spot of the newly planted cloves until the first shoots appear.

6

December is the month when I begin to dig up the parsnips, this way I can keep the supply going through to February.  Here is my the first parsnip of the year.  The photograph below does not truly depict the size, it’s big!  I rinsed the remaining splashes of mud off at home.

1

The leeks brighten the plot with the leaves catching the sunlight.  This may well be my last post for 2014 so a happy festive season to all.  Thank you for reading my blog and for your comments and thank you for your lovely blogs.

DSCN1854

2 thoughts on “A crisp December morning

Leave a Reply

